The Old Curiosity Shop was the fourth novel by Charles Dickens and follows the life of Nell Trent and her grandfather, both residents of The Old Curiosity Shop in London.

The Old Curiosity Shop was one of two novels (the other being Barnaby Rudge) which Dickens published along with short stories in his weekly serial Master Humphrey’s Clock, which lasted from 1840 to 1841.


The Old Curiosity Shop was published in 88 parts between April 1840 – November 1841 within the weekly periodical Master Humphrey’s Clock, published by Chapman and Hall.

A number of illustrators were used by Dickens for the project including Samuel Williams, David Maclise, George Cattermole and Hablot Knight Browne (Phiz).

Popular Culture.

There have been around ten adaptations of The Old Curiosity Shop made for the screen. In more recent times a television film adaptation of The Old Curiosity Shop, starring Tom Courtenay and Peter Ustinov, was released in 1995. In 2007 a film version, starring Derek Jacobi and Toby Jones, was released.

Discover The Old Curiosity Shop.

You can read all of The Old Curiosity Shop on The Circumlocution Office. If you want the location of particular The Old Curiosity Shop pages or chapters for reference or academic purposes you can use our study links page.