The Charles Dickens novel A Tale of Two Cities comprised 45 chapters, divided into three ‘books’, each representing a different part of the story. You can access each chapter by clicking on the respective link below.


Book 1. Recalled to Life.

Chapter 1. The Period.

Chapter 2. The Mail.

Chapter 3. The Night Shadows.

Chapter 4. The Preparation.

Chapter 5. The Wine-shop.

Chapter 6. The Shoemaker.


Book 2. The Golden Thread.

Chapter 1. Five Years Later.

Chapter 2. A Sight.

Chapter 3. A Disappointment.

Chapter 4. Congratulatory.

Chapter 5. The Jackal.

Chapter 6. Hundreds of People.

Chapter 7. Monseigneur in Town.

Chapter 8. Monseigneur in the Country.

Chapter 9. The Gorgon’s Head.

Chapter 10. Two Promises.

Chapter 11. A Companion Picture.

Chapter 12. The Fellow of Delicacy.

Chapter 13. The Fellow of No Delicacy.

Chapter 14. The Honest Tradesman.

Chapter 15. Knitting.

Chapter 16. Still Knitting.

Chapter 17. One Night.

Chapter 18. Nine Days.

Chapter 19. An Opinion.

Chapter 20. A Plea.

Chapter 21. Echoing Footsteps.

Chapter 22. The Sea Still Rises.

Chapter 23. Fire Rises.

Chapter 24. Drawn to the Loadstone Rock.


Book 3. The Track of a Storm.

Chapter 1. In Secret.

Chapter 2. The Grindstone.

Chapter 3. The Shadow.

Chapter 4. Calm in Storm.

Chapter 5. The Wood-Sawyer.

Chapter 6. Triumph.

Chapter 7. A Knock at the Door.

Chapter 8. A Hand at Cards.

Chapter 9. The Game Made.

Chapter 10. The Substance of the Shadow.

Chapter 11. Dusk.

Chapter 12. Darkness.

Chapter 13.  Fifty-two.

Chapter 14. The Knitting Done.

Chapter 15. The Footsteps Die Out For Ever.