American Notes for General Circulation is a travelogue by Charles Dickens detailing his trip to North America from January to June 1842. The work was published on 19 October 1842.


  1. Going Away.
  2. The Passage Out.
  3. Boston.
  4. An American Railroad.  Lowell and its Factory System.
  5. Worcester.  The Connecticut River.  Hartford.  New Haven.  To New York.
  6. New York.
  7. Philadelphia, and its Solitary Prison Going Away.
  8. Washington.  The Legislature.  And the President’s House.
  9. A Night Steamer on the Potomac River.  Virginia Road, and a Black Driver.  Richmond.  Baltimore.  The Harrisburg Mail, and a Glimpse of the City.  A Canal Boat.
  10. Some further Account of the Canal Boat, its Domestic Economy, and its Passengers.  Journey to Pittsburg across the Alleghany Mountains.  Pittsburg Going Away.
  11. From Pittsburg to Cincinnati in a Western Steamboat.  Cincinnati.
  12. From Cincinnati to Louisville in another Western Steamboat; and from Louisville to St. Louis in another.  St. Louis Going Away.
  13. A Jaunt to the Looking-glass Prairie and back.
  14. Return to Cincinnati.  A Stage-coach Ride from that City to Columbus, and thence to Sandusky.  So, by Lake Erie, to the Falls of Niagara.
  15. In Canada; Toronto; Kingston; Montreal; Quebec; St. John’s.  In the United States again; Lebanon; The Shaker Village; West Point Going Away.
  16. The Passage Home Going Away.
  17. Slavery.
  18. Concluding Remarks.